The Dog Days Are Over

Only a few days until the autumnal equinox! I hope you know what that means (because Hawaii doesn’t): sweaters and hot apple cider and hay rides and plaid skirts and scarlet maples and bonfires and newly sharpened pencils. I could go on, but you get the picture. The dog days are indeed over (for most of us, anyway), and I feel like celebrating with a song.  I guess it doesn’t have a whole lot to do with the season, but somehow it feels fitting for the occasion. Let me present “Dog Days Are Over” by English music artist Florence and The Machine.

Happiness hit her like a bullet in the back struck from a great height by someone who should know better than that.

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “The Dog Days Are Over

  1. You know, I mostly have love for summer…. when it comes to seasons, anyway. Spring paints a pretty picture and thought in my mind. Fall brings change and my birthday. Winter is white and allows for lounging about on snow beds, while staring into a captivatingly vast sky. But summer? … Summer is everything I loved about being little. Summer holds countless childhood memories that can quite acuratly be described as “beautiful.” Summer takes my breath away by matching my mood to the sunshiney surroundings. To me, summer is the ideal. All the other months lead up to it. But. I will readily (and astonishingly) admit to my newfound admiration of fall. It is beautiful. The crisp air is refreshing! It catches you off guard. I think I put fall in a box… Anyway, all this long comment to say: I’m realizing how beautiful this time of year can be, and I’m sorry you can’t enjoy some of your favorite things. Perhaps I could pray a surprise and all-expense-paid trip to the mainland is in your near future? Though, I can’t promise there won’t be any selfish motive behind it…

Leave a Reply

