Rosehill Cottage from “The Holiday”

One thing about Christmas break: you can watch sappy romantic comedies in the middle of the day and get away with it. One afternoon last week, my mom and I watched “The Holiday” for the first time. The movie has a lovely concept really: two people desperate to get away trade houses for the Christmas holiday. Best part is, one of the houses is a romantic stone cottage tucked away in the English countryside of Surrey. Why Cameron Diaz, and not me, had to be the one to get it, is beyond my belief in the justice of the world. At any rate, my Anglophile sensibilities were all awake at the sight of the quaint Rosehill Cottage and its idyllic little town.

Kate Winslet gets to live there. At least, in the movie. According to reality, and much to my dismay, Rosehill Cottage isn’t real. The exterior was a quick temporary construction. I believe the interior shots were simply sets. Still, one can still dream about the open fireplaces, the stone walls, the slightly sagging roof, the climbing ivy. And inside looks comfortable and cozy. Just look at the library:

And the kitchen:

And the living room:

And the tiny bathroom:

Yes, I definitely could live there. The town seems quite lovely-old as well:

So who knows, maybe this idea of swapping houses with someone in England isn’t such a bad idea after all. Next Christmas? Maybe?

17 Comments

Filed under Movies

17 responses to “Rosehill Cottage from “The Holiday”

  1. sapphy03

    I really want to visit London once in my lifetime, Whenever I see pictures of country side London specially of cottages, I get awed and driven into a fairy tale! And The Holiday is one of my favorite films!

    topratedjuicers.net

  2. teaandcrumpetsFTW

    are your bathrooms massive or something in america, because that bathroom looked kinda big… anyway, i live in the uk and i wished i lived in a thatch roofed cottage like that :)

  3. Ron A.

    Having been born and raised in “Jolly olde England,” I miss it terribly times. Walking through Anne Bolyne’s home, the countryside, old almost gone Saxon sites and discovering still, the hidden treasures that lay around each corner along narrow country lanes.

    That is why I go there at least once a year to enjoy it and to take it all in yet again. Songbirds, history, olde English Pubs. To walk the same paths that Great Alfred or Kind Richard once trod, to see where history was made that actually meant something to an entire nation and a way of life that became the hallmark for almost an entire world. To be able to sit outside a Pub and watch England walk by is an experience not to missed – plus the ‘grub’ is to be savored also..

    There are many “Rosehill” cottages – you just have to look for them. They await you silently and will give you a taste of what you seek whether it be ‘Bluebell’ covered forest floors or wind-swept moors that make you think of monsters when the sun goes down. Let us not forget the old girl herself – London. A city like no other on earth and a place I can call my birthplace.

    • Hi Ron, your comments are making me want to visit England more and more… Sounds so wonderful!

      • Ron A.

        Hi Rose,

        Having just returned from England yet once again, I thought I would ask if you have made that long awaited trip over the pond yet and actually set foot in that sacred place known as England?

        If you are indeed planning on going, I would suggest you let me know as I can provide you a legion of places to visit which will provide you a most insightful visit. Whether it is of historical interest, legendary interest or just plane “get me to the Church on time” interest, I am sure I can help. You must go – I can’t imagine such a burning desire not being fulfilled.

        The movies are fine to provide the tug on the heartstrings, but to stand in a forest in which Elizabeth 1 played as a child, or to walk through a Stately Home or an English Castle – the ones along the coast are spectacular. To walk along the “South Downs” and come across a Neolithic Fort which must have taken years to construct and yet its outline has remained on the landscape for 2 or 3 thousand years,is truly an amazing feeling.

        To tease your senses just a little more – go into the crypt in St. Paul’s Cathedral, in London and touch the tombs of some of England’s greatest heroes, or perhaps walk into the oldest surviving Saxon Hall in Winchester and see a somewhat “Round Table” hanging on the end wally of that great hall. A table which was described by one specific individual whose name I shall leave for you to research, sometime in the 1400’s, as “…. this great table of Arthur, having hung in the Great Hall of Winchester these past 600 years.” The center of the table was so insulting to Henry VIII, he had the image on it painted over with his Tudor Rose.

        But one place remains which is the place where I can say that when there, the entire world is consumed within your imagination as if all at once – The Tower of London. This is the place where all of the spirits of those who have passed through its gates, whether by way of the river through “Traitors Gate” or through the other entrances. Those who entered via “Traitor’s Gate” would certainly soon thereafter feel the sharp kiss upon their neck of cold English steel, followed by the soft and refreshing breeze of an English morning rushing through the hair on their head as it is placed upon a spike high upon the walls of the ramparts along the river-side for all to see.

        Ah, that wonderful aspect of English history. T’is but a farce played before the rabble who feel not, sense not, the onset of the cruellest of ploys.

        Best regards,

        Ron.

    • Pete

      I was about to reply on the same lines: There are still houses and cottages like that. I am born and bred in England but am still amazed that when travelling even locally, to somewhere I haven’t been before, I come across remnants of the past. Churches are the most obvious landmark. I have no old church in my village, but a Saxon one (ca 750) on one side and a Mediaeval (13thC) one on t’other as we say in Yorkshire.

  4. Love it! The only thing missing in the photos is Iris’ brother, Graham…sigh

  5. Gem

    That village is Godalming in Surrey! In case you wanted to know! :)

  6. kayleigh

    hi i must say your cottage is brilliant
    it all cosy and i might fit in this cottage
    myself please reply back

  7. hanie

    I really want to go england much!!!!!!so what can i do to make it real, i wish lived there and meet a guy like “jude law” too :) :* LOL

  8. How can I rent this house, and what does it coast? Please help. Thank you from Hungary :)

  9. Pingback: Frog Street Farmhouse | The musings of a student Journalist

  10. Generateur De Code Black Ops 2

    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the wonderful works gujys I’ve
    included you guys to our blogroll.

  11. Pingback: My Favourite Movie Interiors: A Nancy Meyers Obsession |

  12. Janice pierce

    Love to know. What color was used on kitchen cabinets! :-)

Leave a Reply

