Happy Pancake Day

Pancake Race in London - image courtesy Pedro Figueiredo

Life is too short not to celebrate Pancake Day. Maybe I’ve never observed Lent or Shrove Tuesday, and maybe the closest Pancake Race is 10,000 miles away, but fear not, I will eat pancakes. English pancakes. Thanks to Delia Smith and her Basic Pancake recipe, this morning was better than ordinary. I had to figure out some measurement conversions, but I think these pancakes turned out rather well.

I started by sifting the flour and salt – I figured that 4 oz. of flour is about 9/10 of a cup, so I just eyed it.  And then I added those non-Lent eggs.

The milk measurement turned out to be about 7/8 of a cup with water added to make 1 1/4 cups all together.

The batter is a lot thinner than our traditional American pancakes, seemed more like crepes. It took me a few pancakes to get the hang of pouring the right amount of batter and flipping the pancakes without destroying them. But eventually I was able to achieve that beautiful golden color.

I decided not to serve with lemon juice as suggested, but instead took an idea from a London restaurant called The Botanist: caramelized apples. My version turned out rather different, but same concept. I combined a little butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon in a saucepan.

Then I added some chopped apples and simmered them while I finished up with the pancakes.

Drizzle a little maple syrup, and there you have it – English Pancakes with Cinnamon Apples:

 

5 Comments

Filed under Food

5 responses to “Happy Pancake Day

  1. Yummy! Those are gorgeous-looking pancakes!

  2. Chris.H

    I`d scoff those pancakes down well sharpish! They look bloody scrumptious.
    Better than me old mam could make.

  3. Pete

    Why do american recipes always involve cups. Don;t they have scales in America? What is a cup? we have about 4 sizes of cups here.

Leave a Reply

