The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Okay, so I am usually a purist when it comes to Jane Austen. For example, Lost in Austen: hated it. All those sequels to Pride and Prejudice where Mr. Darcy happens to really be a private investigator on random murder cases do not appeal to me, not that I’ve actually read them. So I could be persuaded, but it would take a lot of Persuasion. haha, get it? Persuasion? I know, not funny.

Anyway, I’m not a big fan of meddling with original Austen text. But I have to admit, there is a new project on YouTube that not only surprised me, but also makes me pretty happy. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries takes the form of a video blog in which a modern-day Elizabeth tells the story of Pride and Prejudice. I really am surprised at how much I have been enjoying each episode. Charlotte is behind the camera, and occasionally her sisters stop by (only two actually – Mary and Kitty are, sadly, cut out of the script). Even though the videos are scripted, they feel natural, and I actually enjoy the modern interpretation. But instead of rambling on about how great this is, I’ll just show you. Here is the first episode:

4 Comments

Filed under Jane Austen

4 responses to “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

  1. Something different…hmmm

  2. I’m not a fan of any type of do-over or remake. My contention is, why can’t the author just be original without borrowing from the reputation of the original author..
    Like you, I could sit at home with a pile of British mysteries or stories and be content with knitting needles in hand. Must make it to England one day.

  3. Teresa

    As much as I love the original Jane Austen stories, I can help but like the remakes and twists on the original stories. Anything to help me identify with the stories more from a modern perspective, or to surpise me with a different story from the same world. I really like this Jane Austen Diaries thingy. Think I’ll have to watch the rest :)

  4. Emma.UK

    This is really good :) I watched every single episode… so good to see and it is really a different way to look at the whole story :) a bit like “Pride&Prejudice, a-latter day comedy” =D

Leave a Reply

